Welcome 2017!!!

Before anything else, I would like to greet everyone a Happy New Year! I hope we were all able to start and welcome 2017 with our loving family and dear friends.

This blog post is more about my holiday experience. Exactly two days before Christmas, I was admitted to the hospital for I was experiencing so much pain on my lower back, specifically on my tail bone. I got on and off fever, and I just can’t take anymore the pain that day. Yomi and I thought that it was just a normal boil, but then I was diagnosed of having a Pilonidal Cyst.

Yep, that is also the first time we heard of such case. And so I looked up on it on the internet, and here is what I found out:

Link: All About Pilonidal Cyst

“There’s a type of cyst you can get at the bottom of your tailbone, or coccyx. It’s called a pilonidal cyst, and it can become infected and filled with pus. Once infected, the technical term is “pilonidal abscess,” and it can be painful.

It looks like a large pimple at the bottom of your tailbone. It is more common in men than in women. It usually happens more often in younger people.

People who sit a lot, such as truck drivers, have a higher chance of getting one.”

To know more about my condition, like the causes, possible prevention and cure, click the link above for more information.

But true to it’s definition, it is really painful. My surgeon said that my pilonidal cyst was congenital and that unknowingly, I let it grow inside me. And now that it was infected, my surgeon had a hard time in removing the cyst, but of course, he was able to!

Just to share the whole process, I have to be admitted in the hospital for 5 days. That includes the surgery and minor healing process. The surgery took 3 hours, and I did not feet anything because I was given an anesthesia on my spine. (Like epidural, for mother who gave birth). Then as I woke up after the surgery, I felt nauseous. The nurse said it was normal because the anesthesia is already wearing off. After that, I freaked out a little when I saw a tube connected inside me. The nurse told me that it is for drainage purposes. It was really difficult on the first day after the surgery. I can barely sleep because of the pain, though they were giving me pain relievers, but sometimes it does not work that fast. And not to mention, I had to sleep with only one position, I had to lay my back flat to the bed. I did try to change position, like sleeping sideward but it is just painful to move. It took me two days before I can finally stand and sit. But not too long.

And that is how I spend my Christmas and our 2nd year anniversary. It may be a bit despairing way of celebrating the Christmas, but of course, I still consider myself blessed for at least somehow, the operation was successful, and not to mention, I did not spend so much with my whole stay in the hospital because it was mostly covered by my health card.

By December 27, I was already advised that I can go home. I was told that I needed a full bed rest. And that’s what I did. I just saved my energy so at least I can celebrate New Year with my family.

Below are some pictures of how we celebrated NEW YEAR 2017!!!

 

 

keooo

Leave a Reply

