Embracing changes.

I have been thinking of things to blog, I have so much ideas, my thoughts are overflowing but I am not able to organize them. So please excuse me for being on hiatus, which I think will happen a bit often because my leave is almost over, as much as I wanted to stay at home and take care of my Anastasia, I also really have to return to work.

So these past few days, I have been reminiscing a lot and suddenly faced with this question…

BLOG1.png

First thing that came into my mind were my “what if’s?” and then I find myself answering those too.

Here are my “what if’s?”

  1. What if I did follow my curfew?
  2. What if I did study harder and aimed to finish college with flying colors?
  3. What if I did not work while studying?
  4. What if I did not have much social life back in college?
  5. What if I chose to listen and obey everything my parents told me?

And so I also find myself answering these:

  1. If I did follow my curfew then I would be at home early, would have more time with my siblings, would not procrastinate with deadlines I have to meet and would have enough rest. BUT still, I cannot deny the fact that I did enjoy those times I went home late just to spend more time with my friends, doing extra-curricular activities and simply wandering alone.
  2. If I did study harder, then I would have higher average and I can also finish college with flying colors just like my block mates. BUT I cannot be so hard with myself. Considering that I help my sister study (take note, this is on a daily basis), I also worked while studying during my senior year, and still able to maintain my grades and did not fail any subject, I guess with what I have achieved, I am very much fulfilled and proud!
  3. If I did not work while studying then just like following my curfew, I would be able to have more time to do things and would be able to focus a lot. BUT I must admit that working while studying was never an easy thing to do. I dealt with serious time management, felt tired every now and then that sometimes 12 hours of sleep was still not enough and I cannot focus on things. Having experienced all of these, I still have no regret of making the decision to work. I learned to be independent because I cannot expect everyone to always be there to help with things. I learned to value time, and realized how precious every single second of my life. And I learned how to prioritize important matters.
  4. If I did not have social life I had back  then I wouldn’t enjoy college as much as I did. I will not be able to step out of my comfort zone. And most of all, I wouldn’t meet people whom I have never thought would be there with me through thick and thin.
  5. If I chose to follow everything my parents told me, then they will be more than glad that I have a good life the way they wanted it. BUT even though I may have not obeyed them often and would stick with whatever decision I have, I know for a fact that I can still make them proud and happy for me. I may be far from my them but they never fail to make me feel loved and have always supported me with whatever I do.

 

And I am very grateful that the path I chose led me to Yomi. He’s one of the reasons why I love my life so much. I am lucky to meet his very loving family. And above all the things that he gave me, I am very blessed to have Anastasia. Now I can clearly see my purpose in life.

For the very first time in my 20 years of existence, I was not able to spend the holiday season with my family. It is heartbreaking, I must say. But Yomi and his family did not make me feel like I’m an outcast with them and it made me feel better.

I am never a fan of drastic changes in life. Because  I find it so difficult to cope up. But this experience taught me to embrace the changes and learned that acceptance will always be the key to happiness!

 So cheers to a year full of dreams to make, goals to achieve and happiness that will forever be with us.

 

12483767_10204041167148735_76414680_n

This is Yomi’s very loving and happy family. 🙂

12511727_10204041167228737_1167464857_n

This is my family in Cavite. 🙂 My grandparents with my cousins.

12498613_10204041167708749_2117314694_n

This is my family in the UK. That’s my mom, dad, Kelly and Mikel (my siblings). 🙂

12498620_10204042071451342_1667939384_n

And of course my own little family. My life, Yomi and Anastasia. 🙂

 

keooo

Leave a Reply

